Co-Leaders of the Health & Behavior Research Affinity Group


Joel Fein, MD, MPH

Dr. Fein is a Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. He is the Co-Director of the CHOP Violence Prevention Initiative, Co-Chair of The Philadelphia ACES Task Force, and the Co-Director of the National Network of Hospital-based Violence Intervention Programs. His research focuses on violence prevention, mental health, and procedural pain management.

Stephen Leff, PhD

Dr. Leff is a Professor of Clinical Psychology in Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, a Psychologist at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and the Co-Director of the CHOP Violence Prevention Initiative. He is a nationally recognized leader in aggression and bullying prevention programming, relational aggression, and the community-based participatory research (CBPR) process. He has been awarded five NIH grants and a Department of Education grant to support his aggression and bullying prevention programs in the urban schools.

Chair of the Scientific Review Committee


Benjamin Yerys, PhD

Dr. Yerys is a clinical child psychologist whose research focuses on the neurobiology and treatment of attention, cognitive control, learning/reward, and repetitive behaviors in children with autism and other neurodevelopmental disorders. His short-term goal is to understand these basic mechanisms and how they influence a child’s function in everyday life. His long-term goal is identifying effective treatments that can be tailored to a child’s particular profile of attention and cognitive abilities.


Steering Committee

RAG Members

There are currently 106 members of the Health and Behavior Research Affinity Group from over 11 different disciplines throughout both CHOP and the University of Pennsylvania.  We welcome the involvement of all interested, faculty-level investigators.  Please contact streitk [at] (Katherine Streit) if you are interested in joining our research community.

  • Melissa Alderfer
  • Carol Armstrong
  • Lamia Barakat
  • Gordon Barr
  • Sharon Barton
  • Tami Benton
  • Robert Berkowitz
  • Steven Berkowitz
  • Katherine Bevans
  • Nathan Blum
  • Christopher Bonafide
  • Karin Borgmann-Winter
  • Rhonda Boyd
  • Charles Branas
  • Rose Cheney
  • James Coyne
  • Torrey Creed
  • Canice Crerand
  • Jennifer Culhane
  • Katherine Finn Davis
  • Janet Deatrick
  • Guy Diamond
  • Kelly Dougherty
  • Steven Douglas
  • Nadia Dowshen
  • Chris Edgar
  • Ricardo Eiraldi
  • Elizabeth Ely
  • Kristen Feemster
  • Joel Fein
  • Chris Feudtner
  • Evan Fieldstone
  • Alexander Fiks
  • Linda Fleisher
  • Carol Ford
  • Christine Forke
  • Chris Forrest
  • Martin Franklin
  • William Gaynor
  • Marsha Gerdes
  • Ken Ginsburg
  • Karen Glanz
  • Monika Goyal
  • Adda Grimberg
  • Robert Grundmeier
  • James Guevara
  • John Herrington
  • Matthew Hocking
  • Hallam Hurt
  • Wei-Ting Hwang
  • Abbas Jawad
  • Amy Jordan
  • Tammy Kang
  • Nancy Kassam-Adams
  • Leslie Kersun
  • Janet Kwiatkowski
  • Beverly Lange
  • Jessica Mirman
  • Stephen Leff
  • Susan Levy
  • Suzanne Levy
  • Yimei Li
  • Terri Lipman
  • David Mandell
  • Carole Marcus
  • Meghan Marsac
  • Thornton Mason
  • Jennifer Mautone
  • Barbara Medoff-Cooper
  • Victoria Miller
  • Cynthia Mollen
  • Jenelle Nissley-Tsiopinis
  • Kim Nixon-Cave
  • Kwaku Ohene-Frempong
  • Ann O’Sullivan
  • Steven Palmer
  • Iris Paltin
  • Sarah Paterson
  • Nadja Peter
  • Mary Pipan
  • Thomas Power
  • Laura Prosser
  • Elizabeth Prout
  • Jerilynn Radcliffe
  • Therese Richmond
  • Paul Robins
  • David Rubin
  • David Sarwer
  • Steven Sayers
  • Robert Schultz
  • Lynnae Schwartz
  • Lisa Schwartz
  • Phillip Scribano
  • Justine Shults
  • Judy Silver
  • Margaret Souders
  • Virginia Stallings
  • Anne Teitelman
  • Symme Trachtenberg
  • Florin Tuluc
  • Douglas Wiebe
  • Flaura Winston
  • Joanne Wood
  • Benjamin Yerys
  • Marc Yudkoff
  • Katherine Yu